The blue eyed bandit

How many times in our lives, have we been led by our heart-strings and ignored those warning signs and gut instincts in pursuit of happiness?

The warning signs with R. were present immediately. From the first day of employment two years ago, I knew he was arrogant, flirtatious, over bearing and yes, TROUBLE!

I think back to the first days after meeting R. and hearing the things our co workers said about him and seeing proof of their feelings in his actions. I’ll never forget how he would find an isolated spot in the building and sit with his pre paid phone and text some person on the other end for hours. He would laugh out loud, grin really large or command some dramatic performance to instigate you to ask whom he was talking to or about. Once you took the bait, he would answer with subtle sarcasm such as “If I told you, I would have to kill you.”

My co workers talked for years of R.’s flirtatious nature and they hinted on several occasions to his previous marriage and the affair with his present wife. It wasn’t until after R. ended our love affair that the truth of his history began to show itself.

R. was born to a family of 4, two older brothers and one older sister, R. is the baby. They were raised poor, his dad a truck driver and his mom never worked due to mental illnesses. R. was born and raised up north (no need to mention locations) but his dad, being a truck driver, fell in love with our area and purchased a little trailer home for them to have for summer visits. When R. was 17, he impregnated his girlfriend and married her. He was a junior in high school, by the time he graduated at almost 19, his wife had given birth to two daughters. I am not really sure what happened to that marriage, I do know by his early 20’s he was divorced and moved to our area to be closer to his parents, whom had just moved here as well. His ex-wife and their two children relocated to the TX area and most of his communication with his children fell to the way side around that time.

R. shared stories of working on our island, he found employment with the city and worked on the beaches in varying positions, from a lifeguard to  emptying the trash cans at the public access locations. It wasn’t long after moving to our area that he met and married his second wife. R. shared with me his detest of being alone. In one of our long conversations, he openly stated he did not like being alone and was not a happy camper if he was not in a relationship.

He never shared much about his second marriage with me, but we do live in a small community and stories have made their way to my ears. He and his wife lived in a small trailer, in a run down trailer park, just north of our island. I’ve been told, the trailer had holes in the floor, his wife loved to bring in stray animals and their home was filled with cats, the cats usually made their entrance and exit through the holes in the floor of their home. R. had a difficult time securing steady employment, he worked with the city, then with a few different landscaping companies, finally obtaining a position with our former employer 18 years ago. I assume life settled in for he and his wife, she became pregnant with a girl, they moved out of the trailer and purchased a split level home in the area. Their daughter was born and by R.’s version of the story, life became too boring and routine. He said his wife wanted to do nothing in the evenings but cuddle together to watch The Home Network, shop to fix up their house and she allowed their daughter to sleep in their bed nightly. Around that time, R’s sister took a position at a local gas station. R. would venture in to “Visit” with his sister, but word on the street is, he was aggressively pursuing the owner, the same woman who is now his present wife. I can picture him, entering the store, with his Cheshire cat grin, pulling up a chair near the female owner and looking deeply into her eyes while encouraging her to talk about her husband. B. was married, they had two grown children, her husband was also part owner of the gas station. Somewhere in their story, B. opened up to R. that her husband had partaken in not one but several extra-marital affairs. This opened the door to just what R. was looking for, one weekend night, he and his wife hit the town with B. and her husband, R.s wife and B.s husband both left early, B. drank a bit, R. offered to drive her home, and their affair began. B. is 15 years older than R., owns a successful business, a half million dollar home, and likes to spend her money on lavish items, such as new cars, boats, campers, etc. It wasn’t long, according to rumor, that R. left his wife and moved into his sisters trailer. The local gossip has it that B. kicked her husband out soon after and only a few weeks later, R. was moving into their home.

R. would spend hours fussing about his ex-wife and their daughter. She has always struggled to find full-time employment, she is a mechanic, and she and R.’s daughter have always drawn welfare and Medicaid. R. would fuss constantly about having to pay child support, or buy his daughter’s school clothes, etc. All the while, he had left his ex and their child in that position to marry a millionaire.

R.’s approach to me, was the same that I have to assume it was to however many women have been lured in by his seductive blue eyes and startling smile. I have knowledge, just before our friendship began to progress to the affair, that he was pursuing one of the clerks at the local Dry Cleaners, much in the same fashion he pursued me and I am sure how he stalked his wife. Many days, we could not find him for work, and would find him perched on the end of the counter with the said woman or at lunch with her and her female co-worker. Our co-worker, W., lived just down the road from this woman and her husband and would come in to work with stories of seeing R.’s truck backed into her driveway. R. always had some lame excuse, but the signs were ALWAYS there.

When our relationship began to progress, I would share with R. the situations that were taking place in my marriage. R., in return, would talk about his marriage with B. He would tell not only me, but our co-workers as well, that B. had a drug and drinking problem. He would fuss to all of us how every night he would come home, to find B. sitting in the garage drinking if not drunk already and how she would spend the evening demeaning him. R. catered to her every beck and call, he did the grocery shopping in the home, if he was not cooking supper every night he was out picking up whatever she wanted to eat, he checked her gas station every morning and every night to make sure all was secure so she did not have to leave their home, etc. She in turn, was in control of all of their finances, cleaning of their home, and three days a week, she worked at her gas station.

R. would tell me how age had affected her appearance, drinking and smoking had made her wrinkly and gray: their sex life was nothing, she would claim at her age, early 60’s now, she just wasn’t interested anymore: she would insult him at home and in public, after purchasing the landscaping company for his to run, she told everyone he was her short dicked lawn mower boy or she would badger him to not get used to her possessions, he did sign a pre nup and they were hers when he left. As he told me these stories, his eyes would become sad, his voice would tremble and I fully believed he wanted nothing more than to be loved and respected by this woman and she wasn’t willing to give it to him, my heart strings would tug and I wanted nothing more than to share a big hug with him and hold him tight.

In the beginning, the excitement was the bait and switch. My heart would race when he would sneak a kiss in the back room of our employment, my cheeks would flush and my breathing would become rapid when he walked past me, just a little closer than he should. As any marital affair, it was the prospect of getting caught and participating in something that we shouldn’t that kept it excited. As we began to share our stories, open our hearts and fall in love, that excitement waned and i simply just wanted to be with him. As wrong as our situation was, as quick as one would be to assume we were evil, I feel in love with this man, more than I have ever loved anyone in my life. His presentation was authentic and perfect. He wanted to know me, wanted to know my history, my childhood, my life story. He remembered everything that I shared with him and he took special life events and recreated them to make new memories. For example, the story I shared about my friend that died always leaving a gift in my car on special occasions and then he did the same.

Whatever was happening in my life, he was supportive and by my side, so to speak. When my son graduated from Basic in April, R. was the one who was upset when I did not send him photos, R. was the one who phoned me night and day just to hear my smile through the phone, R. was the one who cried with me when I shared my pride of my son achieving one of his life’s dreams. My husband had never been that type of man who cared about anything in my life.

My feelings for R. becoming deeper than they should, it was I who did not want anyone hurt, it was me who encouraged R. to quiet our affair, work on our marriages and see if this love was real. R., in turn, would become irate and irritated. He became almost stalkerish in his many text messages, he would call my home phone in the evenings, he would sit and hold my hand and literally cry at the thought of us not being together intimately, on one occasion, he became extremely upset at just the thought of my husband and I being intimate together. He did not want anyone with me, but him. HIs actions, body language and words led me to believe that he felt the same as I did. In my love induced state, I did not want to remove him from my life either.

From the moment that our affair became public knowledge, R. visibly tucked his tail between his legs and ran. I knew from the first phone call and his impulse reaction to run to his wife’s side, that I had made a grave and fatal mistake in trusting this man. I pushed those thoughts aside and prayed to be wrong. I was hoping it was just the initial fear of change and once R. saw my willingness to disrupt my entire life for him, he would do the same. I have never been so wrong about any one person in my life.

After R. returned to his wife, trashed his cell phone and removed me from his heart, conversations and facts were brought to my attention. It seems the day R. and were terminated from our jobs, R. ran to his wife, informed her of the reason for our termination, claimed that I was a stalker, who had mistaken his offers of friendship for love. He told her that I phoned him non stop. followed him everywhere and could not understand that he was a happily married man. The only reason his wife kicked him out of their home temporarily was because my husband phoned her and confirmed I had admitted to an affair with R. My husband and R.’s wife participated in hours of conversation in the first few weeks of our separation. He told her things about me that were in accurate, she in turn, would share them with R. and R. would turn the story to his advantage. For example, when my friend John died, I shared that my husband had previously accused us of having an affair a few months before his death. My husband told R.’s wife of John and I’s friendship, of the accusation of the affair and of how damaged I was when John died, obviously, I would NEVER be that distraught over losing a friend and he was upset that John had died being he would never have any way confirming his thoughts on our relationship. R’s wife, then told R. about the same conversation, R. was obviously aware of what John meant to me and I had shared many stories about him: R. then tells his wife, that is just proof that I have mental issues and am a stalker—-these two men, took intimate details of my life, shared them with R.’s wife and turned around facts in trying to destroy me and my reputation, two men that supposedly loved me.

Once I discovered the things R. had told his wife, I texted her the truth. I phoned her cell phone and requested a sit down meeting so she could know the truth behind R’ and my affair. She refused any and all communication with me, told me she had been through enough and it was ending then, and called my husband to tell him I was now stalking her.

In the months that have passed since R. and I’s communications ended, my heart has been overwhelmed with so many emotions. I have been angry at being abandoned, angry at the lies and manipulations that he passed between me and his wife, angry that I lost everything and he is still sitting comfortably, in his home, with his wife. I have been devastated that he walked away, heart-broken at his use of words without backing, my soul has been shattered at his presence and sudden departure from my life.

I see him often in our town. The first few times I would pass him driving on the road, his body would shift and he would start the entire time. I think he was waiting for some signal from me that I was still into him, I truly believe if I had attempted to speak to him or stop him, he would have been elated. As time has passed, we don’t look each others way anymore. The pain returns each time I see his truck heading my way, I still want desperately for him to stop me, for him to give me a reason for everything that happened: but see, I know the reason. R. is a self-centered, manipulate man who lives in a dream world that he has created for himself. He wants to be a martyr, save the damsels in distress. He doesn’t think rationally or normally when he finds a woman attractive. He has no dedication to anyone in his life, his children, his wife, even not to himself. He presents himself as this heartbroken man, who just wants love, he plays on the emotions of women who are in unhappy marriages and he takes whatever he can get for himself, never thinking of the pain he brings to others.

I was not the loser in this game: I actually was the winner. I loved genuinely and truly, at some point, both men. Though I am alone today, I am no longer in the control of my empty, heartless husband. I am no longer tied to a man who never will and never has loved me. As for R., “we” weren’t enough. He wasn’t enough: he is not a man, but a fox in sheep’s clothing. In a sad way, I feel for his wife. Given their marriage began with an affair while they were married to others, you know in her heart she knows the truth, for reasons of her own, she has chosen to stay with a man who wants nothing more than her material items and will never be faithful or true to her. He will cheat again, if he already hasn’t. I am no longer spending my time with any man who is not willing to spend their time with me. I may be alone, but I am happy with me! I just sit in waiting for Karma to make her way around.

Leave a Reply

